I’ve Been Everywhere, Man!

The title is slightly exaggerated. I have not been everywhere, just alot of places. I had always wanted to be able to travel the world, but never had the chance as an engineer. If I wanted to travel while I was an engineer, I would have had to go on my own time and on my own dime. I would have had to take vacation time (which was limited) from work to have the time to go. But now that I am in the world of academia, I have been fortunate to be able to go to many different places. Let’s start with the places right here in the good ol’ US of A.

  1. Washington, DC – I went here for a two-day symposium called “Repositories in Science and Technology.” It was held at the Library of Congress. I really went on the cheap. I took Megabus and then got a bed in a Quaker hostel three blocks away from the Library of Congress. It was a really fun trip, but the Megabus ride was long and boring (9 hours).
  2. Atlanta, GA (thrice) – I had been here many times before, after all, I went to college at Georgia Tech, but I went for two separate things school-related. I initially went for CurateCamp. This was pretty much a waste of time, aside from the fact that I got to meet some of the librarians at the Georgia Tech Library. I then went back a few months later to the Galileo Knowledge Repository Cooperative Curation Symposium. It was pretty interesting. I then got to go back again for a ASERL Summit on new roles for liaison librarians. It was pretty interesting, as I got to meet even more people there that I had emailed.
  3. Urbana-Champaign, IL (twice) – I went first for the “Introduction to the Text Encoding Initiative” workshop. That was taught by Julia Flanders and Syd Bauman, both from Brown University (not knowing I would later apply for an get offered and turn down a job at Brown). Then I went back two weeks later for the LEEP weekend for the online course I was taking called “Foundations of Data Curation.” I stayed with my wife’s aunt and uncle both weekends, who are both faculty at UIUC.
  4. Chapel Hill, NC (twice) – I went here initially for the CurateGear symposium. It was very early in my graduate school tenure (right after the first semester), and was pretty useless, because I knew absolutely nothing and everything was over my head.
  5. Baltimore, MD – I went to Baltimore for ASIST 2012. I was a student assistant and I presented a poster and lightning talk at the Digital Liaisons session. I got to meet even more great people there. This trip got me involved in the SIG-DL group, which I volunteered for to help organize the next Digital Liaisons session in 2013.
  6. Boulder, CO, and while there, Lexington, Louisville, KY, St. Louis, Kansas City, Columbia, MO, Lawrence, KS, Lincoln, NE, Fort Collins, CO, Cheyenne, Laramie, WY, Colorado Springs, CO. – I went to all these places, but spent most of my time in Boulder (2 months) for my internship at the National Center for Atmospheric Research. It was for my assistantship in the DCERC grant. We really had a nice time there. My wife was able to come along for the whole time since she was out from school for the summer.
  7. Albuquerque, NM, and while there, Santa Fe, NM – I went here for the DataONE All Hands Meeting. It was interesting, but I didn’t get much out of it. I took a day trip to Santa Fe because I thought, “I’m this close. I have to go see it.” So I did. It was pretty interesting and really pretty.

Now for the places outside of the US

  1. Amsterdam, Netherlands – I went here for the International Digital Curation Conference in 2013. This was quite a fun experience. I had never been there, so I got to do alot of sightseeing. It was very cold and snowing the days I was there. I even came down with a bad cold. But despite those challenges, it was a great trip. I got to meet some great people in the Digital Curation Centre.
  2. Montreal, Canada – I went here for ASIST 2013. It was super cold then. My wife came along with me, too, so we had a great time. Montreal is a beautiful city. I was also sick with a cold then, too, and had some trouble sleeping, but we still had fun.

Looking forward to the places I hope to be able to go over the next year, I’m excited about the possibilities. Let see…

  1. Copper Mountain, CO, near Denver – I will be going here in July for the DataONE Users Group Meeting. It will be held at the Copper Mountain Resort, which is a ski resort. Obviously, there won’t be any skiing going on in July.
  2. Los Angeles, CA – I am really hoping I get picked for the Institute for Research Design in Librarianship. If I do, I’ll get to spend two weeks in Los Angeles at Loyola Marymount University learning all about the research process for librarians. I am so excited about getting to go. I surely hope they select me. Fingers crossed!
  3. San Francisco, CA – I will be going there for the International Digital Curation Conference later in February this year. I’ve been before, but this is the first time I will go for work. I’m going back three weeks later for vacation.
  4. Seattle, WA – If I decide to go to ASIST this year, it will be here. I am not 100% sure I want to go yet, but it’s a good possibility. I need to balance the money with other trips. I might decide it’s more important to go to IASSIST or IDCC again. We’ll see.
  5. Helsinki, Finland – there is a slim possibility that I will go to the Electronic Theses and Dissertations conference here. My boss would have to ask me to go and pay my way, but it might be really useful for the Educopia grant I may be a part of (if it gets funded).

Wow, it’s interesting to see all the places I’ve been and hope to go this year. The career is certainly open to traveling, that’s for sure. There will be many more places I get to go over the course of my entire career, but I’ve been more places in the last two and a half years than I have ever been. I am sure there will be places I get to go that I never dreamed I would go, and that’s the really exciting part. Where will this job take me next? Africa? Asia? Australia? South America?

You make a good point, but...

