Toastmasters

This post is part of the “New Writing Habit” series in which I attempt to write about something for one hour every work day.

I have decided to start going to Toastmasters. I started to go earlier in the semester, but went once and stopped going. But starting in January, I will go every meeting, which is every 2nd and 4th Tuesday of the month at the UT Conference Center. The group was pretty nice the one time I went, so it should be a good experience. It should really help me in speaking on my feet, which I am not comfortable with. I am fine with speaking if I have a prepared talk or if I am very familiar with the material, but if I have to speak extemporaneously, I get scared. I want to get to the point where I can speak without having to prepare. I want to get to the point where even on prepared presentations, I can simply have a list to topics to jog my memory and talk from that. I think it can happen, but it will take time. I just have to make it a habit to do this.

You make a good point, but...

