The Institute for Research Design in Librarianship

This post is part of the “New Writing Habit” series in which I attempt to write about something for one hour every work day.

I recently learned of a new institute for practicing librarians to learn about the research process. This Institute for Research Design in Librarianship will be held June 16 – 26, 2014, at Loyola Marymount University in Los Angeles, CA. I will be applying for this institute soon. I am working on my application now. The application consists of an abstract, cover letter, CV, letter of support from my Dean, and a research project description. I have the CV and letter of support ready. I’m working now on the project description. I have to decide exactly what project I want to do, then figure out the best way to describe it.

I am leaning towards doing a project that takes the Data Information Literacy project from Purdue and extends it to determine which of the competencies are being taught in the Department of Civil Engineering at UTK, as well as how they are being taught and if the students are learning them. Knowing this information will let us know how to better move forward with providing training for the students in the College of Engineering. I am not 100% certain that this is the best way to frame this project though. I need to get some feedback from more experienced researchers. I think I will ask CT, GB, and JW.

The application materials are due on February 1, 2014, so I have some time, but I don’t want to run short of time.

You make a good point, but...

