Productivity and Prolificacy

This post is part of the “New Writing Habit” series in which I attempt to write about something for one hour every work day.

The reason I’m writing so much on my blog these days is to form a new habit — writing alot. I am convinced (from my own beliefs and books I’ve read) that it takes dedicated time to write alot. Why do I want to write so much? The reason is because I want to become a very productive scholar. I want to be the person that everyone talks about when they talk about research and writing productivity and prolificacy. If I don’t set aside the time and make writing a habit, then I will not write much. The job will get in the way. But, when I’m writing almost non-stop, I am able to write at least 1,500 words in an hour. I know this pace can’t be kept up at all times, especially when I’m writing up research analysis, but it is a great goal to aspire to.

I have been researching other productive scholars. In the library and information science field, the most productive scholar is Carol Tenopir, who I happen to know personally. The next most productive scholar is Peter Jasco. The top five is rounded out by Blaise Cronin, Charles McClure, and John Budd. I am trying to figure out what they do to be so productive, but my guess is they make writing a habit and do it faithfully everyday. I might contact them if I can’t find the information in the article “Scholarly Productivity of U.S. LIS Faculty” by John Budd.

Carol Tenopir had 59 articles during the period of the study, which was 1999 – 2004. I’m sure if you include the time through today, she would still be the most productive. Jasco had 32; Cronin, 25; McClure, 21; and Budd, 19. These are LIS faculty, so research is a large part of their job, so they must make time for it. As a professional librarian in a tenure-track position, research is a smaller part of my job that being a librarian, but it is still a part of the job. I want it to be a big part, but not take so much time out of my job that I don’t do my job well. I’m convinced that if I just give it a little time every day (about an hour tops), then I will be quite a productive and prolific librarian scholar.

You make a good point, but...

