Finishing up Three Weeks on the New Job

Today is the end of the third week of my new career in academic libraries. I am the Data Curation Librarian at the University of Tennessee. UTWorkmarksALLSo far, it has been fun, and I am encouraged that I am in the right business now. Everyone I work with is very nice and seems genuinely excited that I am on board.

That said, I am feeling a bit overwhelmed. I have all these ideas floating around in my head, but just don’t know where to start. I am reading alot of literature from other universities who have done this (data management services) before, and it is showing me that I have much work to do. I need to simply sit down and write out my strategic plan, get input from Holly and others, and workout a timeline for implementing it. Then, I need to write out a work plan, outlining every step needed to achieve the goals outlined in the strategic plan, including deadlines.

It’s hard to know what to do first when there is so much work to do. I think this weekend, I will spend some time working on my strategic plan and then get some input from others.

You make a good point, but...

