ORNL Internship Reflections

I couldn’t get out of ORNL fast enough yesterday. I turned in my badge and drove out of the guard gate for the last time. I didn’t like it there. The place was stale, stiff, and boring. It reminded me of some engineering companies I’ve worked for in the past.

However, it was not a completely lost semester. I learned alot about how to prepare a data set for publication, including metadata and description. I learned what type of information is needed for someone unfamiliar with a data set to determine if it would be useful to them. I also learned some interesting things about how scientific measurements are taken, such as tools and techniques.

So while I was ready to be done with it, I am glad I spent the time there. It was education and will serve to strengthen my future career prospects.

