NCAR Internship – Midpoint review

I’m at the midpoint of my Summer internship at NCAR. I’m working on an audit project in which I audit the data workflows of four groups within one of NCAR’s divisions and find ways to improve the workflow and increase efficiency. So far, it’s been a pretty interesting project, though sometimes seems slow going. I’m finding that one group is quite organized, while some of the others are not. I think this will be a good project for my future career, since finding ways to increase efficiency will always be a useful skill, especially at an academic library.

I also had an interview with personnel from ORNL DAAC about working there in the Fall. It was Bob Cook, Les Hook, and Tammy Beaty. They all seemed quite interested in my background and the project I’m doing here at NCAR. Tammy said it might be a good idea for me to do a similar project at ORNL this Fall. I’m looking forward to working there and seeing how things work within a data center, as opposed to an active research center.

