Starting the e-Science Discussion

I was reading about an e-Research Roundtable hosted by the Center for Informatics Research in Science and Scholarship (CIRSS) at the Graduate School of Library and Information Science (GSLIS) at the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign (UIUC) the other day, and thought to myself, they really have a lot going with regards to e-research, e-science, and data curation. Then I thought back on the meetings I have had with the Associate Dean of Scholarly Communications at University of Tennessee, Holly Mercer, about how little UT has in the way of e-science initiatives. Then I thought, “We need something like this! We need a place the library and the faculty can begin to discuss these issues in a public forum of some sort.” That got the gears turning. I thought I could probably organize something, but I don’t even know where to begin. First, what would it be? A roundtable? A forum? A symposium? A simple lecture? A seminar series? A panel discussion? I don’t know. I’m not even 100% sure I want to tackle it. I’m going to let the idea percolate for a while before I mention it to anyone else so it has time to develop and mature.

